Which Champions League players are at Rio 2016?

Captained by Neymar, hosts Brazil will aim to win gold for the first time when the Rio 2016 men’s football tournament begins on Thursday. The Olympic Games is the only major title the Seleção have yet to capture and in the 24-year-old Barcelona forward the South American side have arguably the standout name in the 16-nation competition. 

Which teams are in the Men’s Olympic Football Tournament?
: Denmark, Germany, Portugal, Sweden
Africa: Algeria, Nigeria, South Africa
Asia: Iraq, Japan, Korea Republic
North, Central America and Caribbean: Honduras, Mexico (holders)
Oceania: Fiji
South America: Argentina, Brazil, Colombia

©AFP/Getty Images

Sweden won the U21 EURO title for the first time in 2015

Denmark, Germany, Portugal and eventual winners Sweden qualified by reaching the semi-finals of the 2015 UEFA European Under-21 Championship in the Czech Republic.

Will I see any players with UEFA Champions League experience?
Yes. With Neymar in their ranks, Brazil boast the most star-studded squad. South Korea, meanwhile, can rely on Tottenham’s former Bayer Leverkusen midfielder Son Heung-Min. The full list of participating players who are registered to 2016/17 UEFA Champions League clubs is below.

Atlético Madrid: Ángel Correa

Paris Saint-Germain: Marquinhos
Barcelona: Rafinha, Neymar
*Shakhtar Donetsk: Fred


Paris will be represented at Rio 2016 by Marquinhos

Sporting: Teófilo Gutiérrez

Arsenal: Serge Gnabry
Dortmund: Matthias Ginter, Sven Bender
Leverkusen: Lars Bender, Julian Brandt

Arsenal: Takuma Asano

*Roma: Sadiq Umar

Sporting: Ricardo Esgaio, Carlos Mane, Tobias Figueiredo
*Porto: Sérgio Oliveira, Tomás Podstawski, Gonçalo Paciência, Francisco Ramos (on loan at Chaves)

South Korea
Tottenham: Son Heung-Min
*Porto: Hyun Jun Suk
Leverkusen: Ryu Seungwoo

Basel: Alexander Fransson
Beşiktaş: Alexander Milošević

*Third qualifying round/Play-offs

©AFP/Getty Images

Lars Bender and twin Sven will represent Germany

When and where are the matches?

Group stage
4 August

Irag v Denmark (18:00, Brasilia)
Honduras v Algeria (20:00, Rio de Janeiro)
Brazil v South Africa (21:00, Brasilia)
Mexico v Germany (22:00, Salvador)
Portugal v Argentina (23:00, Rio de Janeiro)
Sweden v Colombia (00:00+1d, Manaus)
Fiji v Korea Republic (01:00+1d, Salvador)
Nigeria v Japan (03:00+1d, Manaus)

7 August
Fiji v Mexico (18:00, Salvador)
Honduras v Portugal (20:00, Rio de Janeiro)
Germany v Korea Republic (21:00, Salvador)
Argentina v Algeria (23:00, Rio de Janeiro)
Sweden v Nigeria (00:00+1d, Manaus)
Denmark v South Africa (00:00+1d, Brasilia)
Japan v Colombia (03:00+1d, Manaus)
Brazil v Iraq (03:00+1d, Brasilia)

©Getty Images

Mexico defeated Brazil 2-1 in the 2012 final at Wembley

10 August
Algeria v Portugal (18:00, Belo Horizonte)
Argentina v Honduras (18:00, Brasilia)
Germany v Fiji (21:00, Belo Horizonte)
Korea Republic v Mexico (21:00, Brasilia)
Colombia v Nigeria (00:00+1d, Sao Paulo)
Japan v Sweden (00:00+1d, Salvador)
Denmark v Brazil (03:00+1d, Salvador)
South Africa v Iraq (03:00+1d, Sao Paulo)

All times CET.

Quarter-finals: 13 August
Semi-finals: 17 August
Final and third-place play-off: 20 August

Who are the holders?
A Mexico side featuring Porto midfielder Hector Herrera and then Tottenham player Giovani dos Santos triumphed at London 2012.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *