Referee made right Costa call – Conte

Diego Costa

Diego Costa was booked in the first half for running to the referee and questioning his decision

Chelsea manager Antonio Conte says the referee “made the right decision” in taking no action against striker Diego Costa after his challenge on West Ham goalkeeper Adrian.

Costa, already booked, caught Adrian high on his shin in the second half.

Anthony Taylor did not produce a second yellow card and Costa went on to make it 2-1 to Chelsea in the 89th minute.

Conte said he “did not see” the tackle, adding: “I saw Costa put the pressure on the keeper and then try to stop.”

More to follow.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *