Premier League trophy presentations: Every champion pictured – Leicester City next?

It looks very much like Leicester City will be crowned Premier League champions thanks to a remarkable campaign which sees them needing just one victory to guarantee top spot.

The Foxes have three games remaining and lead second-place Tottenham Hotspur by seven points, as they bid to win the league for the first time in their history.

Leicester first played in the top flight in 1908/09, when English football’s top division was governed by the Football League.

In 1929 they finished runners up in Division One, just a point behind champions The Wednesday, but have mostly yo-yoed between the top two divisions since.

Before this season, Leicester’s best top flight finish since 1929 had been seventh place in 1976, under the management of Jimmy Bloomfield.

Now Italian manager Claudio Ranieri is carving his name into Foxes folklore, as Leicester aim to become the 24th different club to be crowned English champions.

They will also become just the sixth club to claim the Premier League trophy, since the top flight was reorganised in 1992.

Take a look at every Premier League trophy presentation, through the years, in our slideshow above.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *