Pardew disappointed with Benteke

6 Mar

Crystal Palace boss Alan Pardew believes Christian Benteke dived to win his penalty that gave Liverpool a 2-1 win on Sunday afternoon.


Crystal Palace: Pardew disappointed with BentekeCrystal Palace: Pardew disappointed with Benteke

Palace looked to have earned a draw after Roberto Firmino cancelled out Joe Ledley’s strike in an action-packed second-half.

However, Benteke went to ground inside the box in stoppage time following a challenge from Palace defender Damien Delaney.

Referee Andre Marriner delayed his decision at first but he eventually pointed to the spot and Benteke converted to give the Reds a 2-1 win.

Speaking after the defeat, Pardew was quick to criticise Benteke and he claimed the Belgian dived at the first opportunity.

“That touch doesn’t warrant the dive he makes, and it’s the dive that makes the linesman’s mind up. It’s a worrying issue in the game,” said Pardew.

“I’ve heard Jamie Carragher saying there was contact and he was within his rights to go down. Jamie Carragher is saying that? He’s an ex pro. Come on.

“Both of them (Benteke and the referee): really frustrated with that. You try to be fair, to say the right thing to your players, and send out the right message to the players.

“Everyone’s seen the penalty. If you’re the referee and see the centre-half pulling out of the challenge, you don’t give the penalty. And I don’t think he did.

“The linesman assumes that little touch is a penalty. He makes the most of it. If you think that touch affects the fall and the way he lands, then you really need to be consulted.”

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

No comments yet

Leave a Reply