Manchester United fans save the date – Liverpool’s title drought is now longer than yours!

Manchester United fans will have a wry smile on their face this week as the tables were turned on their fierce rivals Liverpool.

Fans of the Reds have taunted their United counterparts for more than a quarter of a century but this week the passing of an anniversary means it is now the Red Devils who have bragging rights.

Monday 23 April, 2016 officially signalled the date when Liverpool’s wait to become champions was longer than Manchester United’s when they ended 26 years without a league title in 1993.

United’s drought began during the reign of Sir Matt Busby in 1967 and spanned the entirety of the tenures of Wilf McGuinness, Frank O’Farrell, Tommy Docherty, Dave Sexton and Ron Atkinson.

Sir Alex Ferguson ended the drought after 9493 days with the inaugural Premier League title.

At that point Liverpool had gone a measly three years without winning the top prize with the image of Alan Hansen lifting the old First Division trophy in front of the Kop fresh in the memory.

However, since then United have won 13 Premier League titles to ‘knock Liverpool off their f****** perch’ (as Ferguson so delicately put it) and have officially become England’s most successful club domestically, winning a landmark 19th English title in 2011 to eclipse Liverpool’s total of 18.

It seemed as if this day would not come two years ago when Liverpool’s late surge saw them come within three games of winning their first Premier League, but Steven Gerrard’s infamous slip ended that dream.

And while the Reds can still boast about knocking United out of the Europa League this season, this unwanted record will be shoved straight back in their faces.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *