Leicester have none YET – but which club has the most PFA Player of the Year award winners?

The PFA awards take place on Sunday with, among others, the PFA Player of the Year, Team of the Year and Young Player of the Year announced.

Competing for the top award this year are Leicester City trio Jamie Vardy, Riyad Mahrez and N’Golo Kante, Tottenham’s Harry Kane, West Ham’s Dimitri Payet and Arsenal’s Mesut Ozil.

The first PFA Player of the Year was announced in 1974 and since then there have been 37 different winners, with only five players winning it twice (Mark Hughes, Alan Shearer, Thierry Henry, Cristiano Ronaldo and Gareth Bale).

Shearer is the only player to be recognised while playing for two different clubs while Ronaldo and Henry are the only two to win it in two consecutive seasons.

Ronaldo’s remarkable 2007-08 season so him become one of only three to win the main award and the Young Player of the Year in the same season, along with Bale and Andy Gray.

Unsurprisingly, England are the country with the most winners with 18, followed by Wales (six) and France (four).

But which club has the most recipients of the award? talkSPORT reveals all…

Click the arrow above, right, to see the countdown!

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *