Labour faces ‘political oblivion’ Corbyn STILL won’t go despite HALF of cabinet to RESIGN

A succession of shadow ministers have resigned today as they do not believe Jeremy Corbyn is an adequate leader for the Labour Party.

The Labour MPs Heidi Alexander, Ian Murray, Lilian Greenwood, Lucy Powell, Kerry McCarthy and Gloria De Piero have all resigned so far in the coup. 

This comes as Andy Burnham MP has said that he will not resign in the Labour coup. 

The Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn is remaining defiant and has said that he will not step down. 

Labour MPs Margaret Hodge and Ann Coffrey have sent a letter to all Labour MPs saying: 

“The Conservative Party is deeply divided and that should be an opportunity for us, but it is clear that many traditional Labour voters feel that our Party no longer speaks to their values”.

They warn “that under Jeremy’s leadership we could be looking at political oblivion” in a general election and that UKIP is “targeting our traditional heartlands”.

This comes as Labour MP Ivan Lewis, who hopes to become Mayor of Greater Manchester, is calling on leader Jeremy Corbyn to resign.

In a statement to the Labour leader, Ms Alexander said: “It is with a heavy heart that I am writing to you to resign from the Shadow Cabinet.

“The result of the referendum last week means that our country is facing unprecedented challenges.

“Those who will be hit hardest by the economic shock associated with the vote to leave the EU need a strong opposition, as do those communities who fear rising levels of intolerance, hatred and division.

“More than ever, our country needs an effective opposition which can hold the Government to account and which is capable of developing a credible and inspiring alternative to an increasingly right-wing and backward looking Conservative Party.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *