EFL Trophy draw: Chelsea to face Swindon, Exeter City and Oxford United in revamped competition

The draw has been made for the revamped English Football League Trophy.

A total of 16 ‘category one’ academy outfits from the likes of Chelsea, Everton, West Ham and Leicester City join the 48 League One and League Two teams in the hat, but a number of invited sides declined to enter.

Arsenal, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United and Tottenham all opted against taking part in the competition.

You can see the full draw below:

Northern Section: 

Group A: Everton, Bolton, Cheltenham, Blackpool

Group B: Wolves, Chesterfield, Crewe, Accrington

Group C: Stoke, Bradford, Morecambe, Bury

Group D: Blackburn, Fleetwood, Carlisle, Oldham

Group E: Derby, Port Vale, Doncaster, Mansfield

Group F: Sunderland, Hartlepool, Rochdale, Notts County

Group G: Middlesbrough, Scunthorpe, Cambridge, Shrewsbury

Group H: Leicester, Sheffield United, Grimsby, Walsall

Southern Section:

Group A: Reading, Bristol Rovers, Portsmouth, Yeovil

Group B: Swansea, AFC Wimbledon, Newport, Plymouth

Group C: Chelsea, Swindon, Exeter, Oxford

Group D: West Ham, Coventry, Wycombe, Northampton

Group E: Southampton, Charlton, Cochester, Crawley

Group F: Norwich, Peterborough, Barnet, MK Dons

Group G: Brighton, Southend, Stevenage, Leyton Orient

Group H: West Brom, Luton, Millwall, Gillingham

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *