Dive dismissed by Bilic

West Ham boss Slaven Bilic rejected Louis van Gaal’s claim that Dimitri Payet dived for the free-kick from which he scored on Sunday.

West Ham: Dive dismissed by Bilic West Ham: Dive dismissed by Bilic

The Frenchman’s exquisite strike in the FA Cup tie was not without controversy and, having escaped a second yellow card for simulation in the penalty area shortly before, the United boss thought he had dived.

“Payet was, more or less, diving,” Van Gaal said. “Of course, he was maybe touched but not to fall like that.”

However, Bilic refuted that claim, instead arguing that goalkeeper Darren Randolph was impeded by Bastian Schweinsteiger when Anthony Martial equalised, with the game ending 1-1.

“A dive? Come on,” the West Ham boss said. “If you have a screen, show me, I am going to defend my point at Cambridge if needed. There is more than a contact. It is definitely not a dive.”

On the incident involving Schweinsteiger, Bilic said: “It was (a foul). I don’t want to spoil the game talking about the referees – overall, he did a good job, but there have been a couple of situations, crucial ones, that have gone against us.”

Martial’s late goal means West Ham will now welcome United for a quarter-final replay – the last-ever cup match to be held at the Boleyn Ground before the summer move to the Olympic Stadium.

“In our dressing room after the game it was kind of silent,” Bilic said. “We are a little but disappointed because we were there the last few minutes and the time when you conceded makes you a little bit down.

“But that is good. It shows you have confidence and are moving in the right direction.”

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *