Costa off the hook

Chelsea striker Diego Costa is unlikely to face disciplinary action having appeared to bite Everton midfielder Gareth Barry.

Chelsea: Costa off the hookChelsea: Costa off the hook

Barry confirmed he was not bitten by Costa as the controversial Chelsea player found himself at the centre of a fresh storm.

Television cameras focused on Costa nuzzling his mouth into Barry’s neck six minutes from time, and it looked as if the Spain striker was prepared to bite him.

Costa appeared to think better of it, though he was still dismissed for a second bookable offence after grappling with the England international.

“Seen a lot of talk about the incident between me and Diego Costa in the game last night,” Barry said on the Fanzai App website.

“For the record, Diego did not bite me.”

The Football Association is awaiting referee Michael Oliver’s report before making a judgement on Costa’s latest misdemeanour, but Barry’s comments will certainly help his case that nothing untoward took place.

Costa will, however, definitely receive an automatic one-match ban for his sending-off.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *