Cahill to lead England in Germany

Gary Cahill

Gary Cahill will captain England despite not being a regular in the Chelsea side this season

BBC Coverage

How to follow:
Live commentary on BBC Radio 5 live and the BBC Sport website

Defender Gary Cahill will captain England in Wayne Rooney’s absence when they face Germany in a friendly in Berlin on Saturday.

Manchester United forward Rooney misses out with injury, along with keeper Joe Hart and winger Raheem Sterling.

Southampton left-back Ryan Bertrand withdrew on Thursday, while Theo Walcott is a doubt after suffering a dead leg.

England face the Netherlands at Wembley on Tuesday.

With Hart absent, manager Roy Hodgson confirmed that understudies Jack Butland and Fraser Forster will each play in one of the two friendlies, but did not state which of the two would feature in Germany.

The fixtures form part of the Three Lions’ preparations for Euro 2016, with games against Turkey, Australia and Portugal to follow in May and June.

Hodgson, who is leading England into a third major tournament, said: “I’m confident that the team I’ve selected is a good team to take on the might of Germany.

“These matches will be very important occasions and there’s no doubt what I’ve seen in training this week and what I see in these games will have an impact [on the make-up of the final 23-man squad for the Euros]. It’s by no means a be-all and end-all situation but we are taking the games very seriously.

“I can’t absolutely guarantee every single player will feature in the two matches but our intention is to use the whole squad to look at people and give them the chance to impress.”

England and Germany will wear black armbands in memory of Johan Cruyff, the Netherlands great who died of cancer aged 68 on Thursday.

England squad

Goalkeepers: Jack Butland (Stoke City), Fraser Forster (Southampton), Tom Heaton (Burnley).

Defenders: Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Nathaniel Clyne (Liverpool), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), John Stones (Everton), Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur).

Midfielders: Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Ross Barkley (Everton), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Danny Drinkwater (Leicester City), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Liverpool), James Milner (Liverpool).

Forwards: Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City), Theo Walcott (Arsenal), Danny Welbeck (Arsenal).

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *