Boss rues Costa goal

Norwich boss Alex Neil lamented familiar failings as Diego Costa’s goal from an offside position earned Chelsea a 2-1 win.

Norwich: Boss rues Costa goalNorwich: Boss rues Costa goal

The Canaries conceded after 39 seconds to Kenedy’s fastest goal of the Premier League season so far and then Costa’s strike before half-time should have been ruled out for offside.

But assistant referee Michael McDonough failed to flag and referee Lee Mason awarded the goal, despite protests as Norwich lost for the seventh time in eight Premier League games to fall into the relegation zone.

“He is offside. I’ve seen it back on the video,” Neil said. “You would expect the officials to get it right. It’s disappointing they don’t get it right. They’ll be disappointed they didn’t get it right. But the linesman’s called it how he saw it.

“It’s not as if he’s two or three yards offside. He’s probably a yard, half a yard. You’d like to think he would’ve got that one correct, but when you’re down at that bottom end those wee bits of fortune that you look for just don’t come your way.”

Neil felt wronged and made his point to the officials clearly at half-time.

He added: “I made him aware at half-time that he got it wrong and he was offside. The guy’s made an honest call and got it wrong. It happens. I’m not going to stand here and lambast him for that. We’re disappointed, really frustrated, but it is what it is.”

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *